Medical Direction and Protocols

The Emergency Physicians Advisory Board (EPAB) provides medical oversight for the MedStar System. The MedStar System consists of MedStar Mobile Healthcare, the Ambulance Service which is operated by the Metropolitan Area EMS Authority, and 15 area co-response agencies .

The MedStar System was established in 1986 to provide exclusive emergency and non-emergency EMS response to various cities in Tarrant County, Texas. Today, the cities in the MedStar System include Blue Mound, Burleson, Edgecliff Village, Forest Hill, Fort Worth, Haltom City, Haslet, Lakeside, Lake Worth, River Oaks, Saginaw, Sansom Park, Westover Hills, Westworth Village, and White Settlement.

MedStar covers a service area of 434 square miles, provides service to more than 1.1 million residents, and responds to about 165,000 calls a year.

Link to the Office of the Medical Director

Link to Protocols