The MedStar system is governed by the eleven members of the Board of Directors of the Metropolitan Area EMS Authority (MAEMSA).

The eleven-member board includes nine voting members, four members representing the City of Fort Worth, one member representing the suburban member jurisdictions, two physician representatives of the Emergency Physicians Advisory Board (EPAB) and two members of the First Responder Advisory Board (FRAB).  The system Medical Director and the EMS Authority’s CEO serve as ex-officio (non-voting) members of the Board.

EMS Authority Board Meetings are generally held every month, on the fourth Thursday of each month starting at 10:00am at MedStar’s HQ facility at 2900 Alta Mere Drive, Fort Worth, TX 76116.

Each meeting has time specified for public comment at the beginning of the meeting.  Click here to view the guidelines for making a presentation to the MAEMSA Board of Directors.

If you would like to address the MAEMSA Board during one of their scheduled meetings, please download and complete this form, then email the completed form to

Board of Directors

Brad Commons, M.D.

Saginaw Fire Chief Doug Spears

Jeffrey L Jarvis, MD, MS, EMT-P, System Medical Director & CMO  (Ex-Officio)

Board of Directors Meeting Documents