Skip to main content

The City of Fort Worth has appointed three new members to the Board of Directors of the Metropolitan Area EMS Authority, the governing body for MedStar and the EMS System.

Susan Alanis is the Chief Operating Officer for Tarrant County College District.  She is responsible for the operations that support the academic goals of the College including Finance, Technology, Real Estate and Facilities, Police, Safety and Emergency Management, and Business Services. Formerly, she served as an Assistant City Manager with the City of Fort Worth until 2019. Her significant policy areas included gas drilling, transportation planning and funding, labor negotiations, healthcare strategy, pension reform, tourism, convention facility financing, park system development and economic development. Susan holds a Master of Public Administration degree from the University of Texas at Arlington. She also holds a Bachelor of Arts in Political Science from Texas State University. She completed the Harvard Kennedy School Program for State and Local Executives. 

Carlos Flores serves as Fort Worth Councilmember for District 2. He is a third generation Fort Worth native with deep roots in the community. He is a member of the All Saints Catholic church parish and Home & School Organization. Flores is a graduate of Nolan Catholic High School and attended The University of Texas at Austin to major in Aerospace Engineering and minored in Fine Arts and completed his degree studies at the University of Texas at Arlington. He is a member of the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA) and the Society of Flight Test Engineers (SFTE). Professionally, Carlos worked for two international product identification and handling companies as project engineer, as a design engineer for Raytheon on the C-130 and P-3 programs, and at Lockheed Martin Aeronautics Company in Fort Worth as a senior engineer performing stress analysis, flight & ground test support for the F-16 and F-35 fighter programs. Flores recently worked at Parker-Hannifin Aerospace in prototype design and testing. He is also a former corporate recruiter at Texas colleges and universities. 

Teneisha Kennard is the Executive Director of Behavioral Health – Ambulatory Services as JPS Health Network.  With over a decade of experience in mental and behavioral health, Teneisha’s current role is a continuation of her life’s passion of service. In her current role as executive director, she is responsible for the operation and development of a full continuum of accessible outpatient behavioral health services. Born and raised in Fort Worth, Teneisha completed her undergraduate degree at Texas Christian University and graduate studies at The University of Texas at Arlington.  Teneisha is a licensed Social Worker with a wealth of knowledge as a practitioner, educator, and administrator.  Her heart for service has led her to work with some of our most vulnerable populations including people experiencing homelessness, justice system involved individuals and those facing socio-economic challenges.  Her path has resulted in progressive leadership positions and provided Teneisha the opportunity to build innovative programming, secure funding through grant writing and participate in informative research resulting in publication. 

“MedStar continues to serve a vital piece of our community’s healthcare infrastructure and an excellent partner to the City of Fort Worth as we work to build safer, healthier communities” explains Fort Worth Mayor Mattie Parker.  “I congratulate Ms. Alanis, Ms. Kennard and Councilmember Flores on their appointments and appreciate their willingness to share their time and expertise in serving on EMS Authority’s Board of Directors.”

These appointments replace three City of Fort Worth appointees who are transitioning off the EMS Authority’s Board of Directors after several years of dedicated service.

MedStar’s eleven-member board of directors includes nine voting members, four members representing the City of Fort Worth, one member representing the suburban member cities, two physician representatives of the Emergency Physicians Advisory Board (EPAB) and two members of the First Responder Advisory Board (FRAB).  MedStar’s Chief Medical Officer and EMS System Medical Director and the EMS Authority’s CEO serve as ex-officio (non-voting) members of the Board.